Positivity Goes a Long Way

One thing I’m trying to do this year is be more intentionally positive.  

I’ve started sending birthday cards to people at the begining of each month.  (yes I realize it’s only February, but I’m 2 for 2, give me some credit.)
I’ve left a lot of those quick-to-judge mom groups on Facebook.

I’ve been intentionally trying to reach out to people if they pop in my head.  Hey, they popped in there for a reason right?

The biggest task I’ve started on this year, is sending a positive post card to everyone in my address book.

A physical post card.

With a positive note.

“You are amazing. Remember that.”

How awesome would it be to get home from a long day at work and find a note with a fun picture telling you that you’re an awesome person, doing an awesome job, worth loving?  I think we all need that sometimes.

I’m trying to send a few out per day.  It doesn’t cost anything but a stamp.  I have a giant pile of leftover post cards people had given me to use at my wedding reception, so that’s already taken care of.

The hard part has been looking at the recipient and trying to find what would make their day.  I’d like to stay anonymous, but I feel some notes require a sender.  Some people I’ve commended them on their healthier lifestyle.  Some I’ve thanked them for their hard work as parents.  Others I send just a positive saying (see above).

My hope is that seeing this little post card brightens someone’s day.  Reminds them that yes, they are worth something.  Someone does care enough about them to go through the effort of sending a post card.
How are you trying to make 2017 a better year?

Leave a Reply

